Abstract vertical shelf rhythm illustration in teal and pale mint on white — decorative header for Upright Freezers Compared on Published Specs

Upright freezers, compared on published specifications

An upright freezer trades outright capacity and power-cut endurance for something most households value more day to day: being able to see and reach what you own without unstacking it.

We do not test freezers. The median upright freezer in this category holds 7 cu ft — the number worth carrying into any listing you read.

Every figure below is taken from the manufacturer’s published listing and measured against the rest of the category. Capacity is published by 99% of the upright freezers here; where a listing is silent, the page says not stated rather than filling the gap.

Where the data runs out. 2 size classes do not hold enough units to support a median: 15–25 cu ft (6 units), 25 cu ft and above (4 units). Below eight units a median describes the sample rather than the market, so no baseline is published for those classes and the comparison table above leaves them blank rather than printing a number that would not survive one more listing.

What the numbers say about this category

Capacity baselines by size class, in cubic feet. A class needs at least eight units before a median is published.
Size class Units Median Middle half Full range
under 3 cu ft 32 1.2 1.1 – 2.1 1.1 – 2.8
3–7 cu ft 53 3.2 3 – 3.5 3 – 6.5
7–15 cu ft 21 7.5 7 – 10.05 7 – 14.6
15–25 cu ft 6 Too few units to publish a baseline
25 cu ft and above 4 Too few units to publish a baseline

The middle-half column is the more useful one. It spans the 25th to 75th percentile, so it describes where most of the category actually sits, and it is far less sensitive than the full range to a single unusually large or small unit — which in this corpus is often a commercial cabinet that happens to be sold alongside domestic ones. Commercial units are held out of these baselines entirely.

How to choose one

Shelves are the whole point, and the whole cost

Fixed shelves and door bins are what make an upright usable, and they are also what consume interior volume. Two units with the same stated cubic feet can differ substantially in what they actually swallow, because shelf thickness, drawer runners and a deep door liner all come out of the same number. The stated capacity is the cabinet, not the space you can pack.

Manual and auto-defrost are genuinely different machines

An auto-defrost upright runs a heater on a timer to clear frost from the evaporator. It saves you a job, and it cycles the cabinet through a warmer part of its range each time, which is hard on ice cream and on anything stored long term. A manual-defrost upright holds a steadier temperature and costs less to run, and asks for an hour or two of your time once or twice a year.

Footprint is not the same as clearance

The width and depth in the spec table are the cabinet. A door needs swing room in front of it, and most manufacturers ask for a ventilation gap at the back and sides. Measure the opening, then measure the path to it — an upright that fits the alcove but not the stairwell is a returned appliance.

What the listings do and do not tell you

Specification coverage is uneven, and that unevenness is itself worth knowing before you shop. A missing figure is not a worse product — it is a less completely described one — but it does mean you cannot compare on that axis without contacting the manufacturer.

How many listings in this category publish each specification.
Specification Stated Share
External dimensions 159 97%
Capacity 162 99%
Defrost type 80 49%
Garage-ready claim 3 2%

Where a listing is silent, this site prints not stated. It never fills the gap with a plausible default, because a specification table that looks complete and is partly invented is worse than one with visible holes.

Which size class you actually need

Capacity is the specification buyers get wrong most often, in both directions. The rule of thumb is roughly 35 lb of packed food per cubic foot, and about 1.5 cubic feet per person for general household use — but the number that matters is not how much you own, it is how you shop.

A household that buys a quarter of beef once a year, or freezes a harvest across a few weeks in autumn, needs capacity sized to that peak rather than to the average week. A household that simply wants more room than the fridge-freezer provides is usually served by far less than it expects, and pays for the difference every month for the next decade in running cost.

Buying too large is the more expensive mistake. A half-empty freezer costs more to run per unit of food than a full one, because the air in the empty space has to be re-cooled every time the lid or door opens, and because a larger cabinet has more wall to leak heat through. It also holds food less safely in a power cut: a full freezer stays cold roughly twice as long as a half-full one of the same size.

Mistakes this data makes visible

Reading stated capacity as usable capacity

Stated cubic feet describe the cabinet interior. Baskets, shelves, dividers and a door liner all come out of that figure, and none of them are deducted before it is published. Two units with identical stated capacity can differ noticeably in what they will actually hold, and no listing quantifies the difference.

Measuring the alcove but not the route

External dimensions are published by most listings in this category, and they describe the cabinet alone. They do not include the clearance manufacturers ask for at the back and sides for ventilation, or the space a door or lid needs to open. Nor do they tell you whether the unit will pass through the doorway, turn at the foot of the stairs, or clear a bannister.

Trusting a phrase over a figure

Marketing language on a listing is not a specification. Where a claim matters to your decision, look for the number behind it — a rated temperature range rather than a phrase about cold weather, a stated dimension rather than a description of compactness. Where this site cannot find that number, it says so.

Find one that fits your space

The freezer finder filters on capacity, form factor, defrost type and cold-room suitability, and shows each result against the median for its own size class. Units that do not state a value are kept in your results rather than hidden, and labelled.

Narrower comparisons

Same data, scoped to the group people most often shop for:

Related categories

  • Chest Freezers — A chest freezer holds more food per cubic foot than any other form factor and holds its temperature longest when the power goes out.
  • Compact Freezers — Under about 5 cubic feet, a freezer stops being a bulk-storage appliance and becomes an overflow one — a dorm room, an office, a second unit for a chest freezer that is already full.
  • Convertible Freezers — A convertible unit switches between freezer and refrigerator temperatures, which makes it the most flexible appliance here and the hardest to compare — because the same cabinet is being sold to two different buyers.

Figures on this page were computed from the corpus on 2026-08-27. How we compile these figures.